The publications of the Germania Sacra project are arranged according to the borders of ecclesiastical provinces and dioceses established by the year 1500. In every bishopric the institutions of the dioceses (e.g. bishops, cathedral chapter, secular chapter, monasteries and parishes) are collected separately. Every institution is related with general history, regional history, Church history and religious order history.

The reference books of the Germania Sacra are arranged in a standardised manner with the following chapters:

  1. Sources, scholarship and material sources
  2. Archive and library
  3. Historical overview
  4. Constitution and administration
  5. Religious and intellectual life
  6. Possessions
  7. List of curricula vitae

Since the beginning of the project in 1917 the reference books have been published continuously. Eight volumes belong to the "Alte Folge" of the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institut für deutsche Geschichte. From 1956 50 volumes of the "Neue Folge" were published by the Germania Sacra at the Max-Planck-Institute for History in Göttingen.

Under the patronage of the Union of Academies in Germany as from 2008, all dioceses and cathedral chapters of the Holy Roman Empire's territory within the boundaries of modern Germany are published as "Dritte Folge". The "Dritte Folge" focuses on descriptions of dioceses, curricula vitae of bishops and the depiction of cathedral chapters.

In addition to the reference books of the Germania Sacra, the "Studien zur Germania Sacra" (32 volumes by the year 2007) are concerned with current research questions. Since 2008, the "Studien" have been continued as "Neue Folge".